Since I shared an update on the tomatoes, I wanted to get one up on the peppers too. I had a little disaster with some of the sweet peppers, but I do have some left. My adorable little tailless Manx cat Ekki, thought it was a good idea to chew the leaves of the ‘Cabernet’ and the ‘California Wonder’ pepper seedlings, and then I forgot to water them, so they died before getting potted up last time. But we still have 4 bell pepper plants left to hopefully get at least one pepper from! There is still hope in my bell pepper goals.

‘Big Dipper’

These did not get chewed on (much) by the cats, and neglected by me, so things are going great! I should have got them in bigger pots and supported them a little earlier, but they are making due. These have tiny little flower buds starting as you can see.

‘Colossal’

These are also doing great. Their stems seem to be a little sturdier than ‘big dipper’ but that is the only real difference I have noticed between the 2 so far… that and the lack of little flower buds on this variety.

Now to the Hot Peppers:
Habanero 

This little guy is doing great! It stood up to the frosts in the greenhouse, which was pretty amazing to me. It is in a smaller pot stacked into the pot of the Mortgage Lifter tomato. This should just help with drainage.. And space saving.

Kung Pau

These are doing well, and hopefully we’ll see some more vigorous growth once we get some sun shinning again.

Jalapeño

These survived early Ekki attacks, and the greenhouse frosts, and you wouldn’t even be able to tell. I am so impressed with the peppers this year, they have been very strong through all the weather and location changes.

Cayenne pepper

These may be my favourite of the peppers. I already have a baby fruit set, so you know I will be out everyday seeing how much growth it puts on. And even now, I’m still amazed at how well they do outside with little to no protection from our moody weather. The Cayenne pepper is the only one not currently residing on Tomato Island… But will move there as soon as I get the ambition to move them and some of the tomatoes. They will be in the way of the Patio construction where they are, so need to get moved before they get too comfortable where they are.

Well, that’s all the peppers. I will try and update again once we get more fruit set, as long as they survive our weird weather to get to that next stage. Sorry for the lack of pictures on the Jalapeño, Colossal and Habanero, but I didn’t have any worth uploading. Next update will be more interesting anyway, and I’ll try and make sure to add pictures of each one then.

Leave a comment

Trending