Little February Update

I have no real gardening updates. When the weather is allowing, I’ve just been working like crazy making things for our little Etsy shop. We’ve had a few nice Chinook days where it makes it really tempting to pull the seeds out and start sowing. But I have been good and resisted. The cold and arctic weather between the Chinooks, has been a good deterrent as well.

The most I have done garden- related is start attempting to get some sweet potato slips. The tuber itself has made quite a few little sprouts that have grown quite vigorously. So I will have to make a little update on its own.


I have indulged in a few seed packets as well. 2 varieties of carrot (‘Purple Haze’ and ‘Little Finger’), some Dill and some ‘Diva’ Cucumber. The Cucumber is new, and I’m excited to try it. I like to grow the pickling cucumbers, but I don’t have the space to get the volume of cucumbers to make pickling all of my own worth it. Hopefully someday, but for now, I’m going to try something new.

The two carrot varieties will be heading straight to my community garden plot. I want to double (or even triple) the amount of carrots I grew last year. Fresh from the garden carrots are one of my most favourite things. You just can’t beat them. The plot there will also have beets and onions for sure, maybe more.

Now that we are heading into March, I can allow myself to take a peek at my tomatoes and other seeds. I re-purposed my little LED light I got for seed starting into a shop light, so I may have to take it back in the house for a few months to get things going.

Keep an eye out for more garden related content in the coming weeks. The season is starting to kick off and I will actually have something to write about.

Quick little tip before I sign off on this post:

When you get new seeds, write the year you got them on the package. Most seeds are viable for a few years if stored in the correct conditions, so you don’t need to purchase them every single year if you still have some left. By writing the year on them, in a few years you will know that the germination rate of that package may not be the greatest. I grew some seeds I had left from 2013 last year and they grew just as well as the new ones.

Leave a Reply

