Community Garden Plot- Update 5

I haven’t been having a great summer. Family members are having health problems; I’m fighting some health problems; I’ve begun to really hate my job; my very best friend and catcher of all of my tears and listener to all my problems died in my arms; and a thousand other little less significant things that just add up to bad times. It’s been rough.

And obviously, my community garden plot kind of fell out of care. I even got an email asking me to take care of the weeds on the path surrounding my plot. Extra disheartening but fair enough.

So I finally went and cleaned the thing up. And it honestly wasn’t that bad. The pathway was the only place there was really any weeds. None the less, I harvested all my remaining potatoes and carrots. I gave up on the beets and beans ever doing anything more than they were doing. Frosts are looming and I don’t have the energy to keep up with the backyard garden AND this plot on the other side of town.

I dug over all the soil, cleaned up the weeds in the paths and gave the empty ground a good drink so it doesn’t turn to dust and just blow away.

I will be going back once or twice before the garden closes for the winter to keep any weeds in check, but for now it is put to bed, awaiting next spring.

So now any possible updates on the plot will be about plans for the spring.


My crop of carrots was absolutely fantastic, and I think I will put at least 2 rows in next year.

The beets could have been better given more time and no decimating hail. Same with the beans and onions. The ‘Purple Caribe’ potatoes were fantastic as always. They have a tiny bit of scab, but nothing troubling.

So I have more plans for next year, and as always, plans to thwart the hail if at all possible. Do you have any ideas on what I should try and grow here next year? As this year, I want to keep it minimal care. Anything a little sensitive, I keep at home where I stand a chance at keeping it alive through some of the weather that Ma’ Nature throws at us here. Depending on how ambitious I get this winter, I may build some kind of brassica cage to keep the damn butterflies away and then I may stick some cabbage out there. So many Ideas… so many months ahead to ponder them.

Here are the this years updates on this garden: 1, 2, 3 & 4

Also, while I’m linking things… Don’t forget to check out my new Etsy shop Iceberg Empire. There is also a little sneaky page about the whole thing at the top menu bar. I’ll update that as exciting things happen over there.

One thought on “Community Garden Plot- Update 5

Leave a Reply

