Mason Bee House… 2016

I don’t have a big write up about this, but here is a little update. This is the Mason Bee house I made last year. It is just a cedar 6×8 with a piece of scrap cedar deck board for the roof.
I had my doubts that it was actually going to be used, but sure enough, last year a few holes were filled. This year, it is starting to become a full house.

I don’t bring this into a warmer area over winter, it is just screwed to the fence with a few deck screws. I figure that since these are native bees, they should be able to handle our weather here. I am just providing a pre-built home where there was probably one removed to build human homes.

If you have room, and the ability, and the tools… “Build” yourself a Mason bee house. There are all kinds of plans online, but the basics are 5/16″ holes. I don’t remember the optimum depth of the holes, so you’ll have to google. Mine are probably about 4 inches, give or take. I put a few different size holes in mine, to see if they only used the 5/16. The 3/8 holes seem to also be used, but only lower down. The ones under the roof overhang are very vacant…so just use your best judgement.
One last thing before I leave this post… My best friend and I have started an Etsy Shop. So if you have some time, please go and check it out, give us a few likes, and if you see anything you like, order away. Any little bit would be immensely helpful and very much appreciated. We are just getting started, so check back. We will also do custom work, so shoot us a message and we can try and work out something. I will also be updating here if we list anything really exciting… Our Shop name is IcebergEmpire… Here are a couple shop type shots:

Leave a Reply

