Herbs for 2016

I bit the bullet and sowed some of my herbs. I felt a little guilty having a big hoard of herb seeds and never dedicating any honest effort in growing them. So I did it. I stuck some of the hoard into dirt.

img_3912

As I mentioned, on January 23, I sowed Lavender, Lemon Balm and Spearmint. And I recently potted them up from the little peat pellets they were started in. I recommend planting some Lavender, just for the aroma therapy of it. You just have to disturb the leaves a little and the air is filled with a wonderful lavender scent. Do it, you won’t be disappointed. And do the same with the Lemon Balm. Its citrus-y scent is delightful (And you can make a little tea from the leaves).

On March 11, I filled up some little seed cells that I have, and sowed the following:

  • 3x Thyme
  • 2x Summer Savory
  • 2x Sweet Marjoram
  • 2x Russian Tarragon
  • 2x Oregano
  • 2x ‘Red Rubin’ Basil
  • 2x ‘Genovese o Comune’ Basil
  • 2x Flat Leaf Parsley
  • 2x ‘Champion Moss Curled’ Parsley
  • 2x Chamomile
  • 2x Catnip
  • 1x Rosemary
  • 1x ‘Cinnamon’ Basil
  • 1x ‘Lemon’ Basil
  • 1x ‘Lime’ Basil

I also started some Sage and some Garlic Chives in larger seed cells. There is 2 cells of each of those. Also, I will be growing Dill, but I’ll wait until its closer to putting them outside to try and start some inside. I usually forget about the Dill until its too late, and then it doesn’t mature in time to harvest anything more than a few sprigs. I am hopeful that starting the Dill a little early, I can actually get enough to both use fresh, and have some to dry to use throughout the winter.

I am also keeping my fingers crossed that I will find some Stevia seed. I really really want to grow my own sweetener.

Looking at that list seems a little daunting, and I hope that I can keep these surviving until its safe for them to go outside. Ultimately, like last year, if they don’t make it, I will replace them from plants from the garden centre… but lets hope that doesn’t have to happen this time around.

Do you start any herbs from seed? Leave a comment below with any tips or tricks or questions.

 

UPDATE: My wonderful future Mother-in-Law sent me some Stevia seeds! I started 3 peat pellets of them as soon as I opened the envelope on March 14th!! Fingers crossed they germinate!!

UPDATE #2: The Tarragon germinated in 2 days!!!! Not even kidding. 

9 thoughts on “Herbs for 2016

  1. Really? I love tarragon! I’ll have to try that. I have to tell you, I love your large variety. Also, do you know where she got the stevia? I would love to grow some.

    1. I’m not sure where she found it exactly, but it is from McKenzie seeds. The variety makes it more interesting, and since they don’t take up much room, it’s easy to justify growing so many different herbs. Thanks for your comment!

      1. Awesome. Thanks. I’ll look that up. I think I’ll pick up some herbs. Never tried it, but I like that you said they don’t take up much room. And, you’re welcome. I like your posts. I always learn something! 🙂

  2. I’m also starting an herb garden this year but I’m not planting no where’s near as many herbs as you! I have maybe 5 different herbs planted new this year and 3 that are from last year. I want to try lavender but every time I go seed shopping I always forget.

    1. Chives seem to be the only dependable winter-hardy Herb I have, all the others usually need to be replaced every year. I also keep them all in containers.

  3. You definitely had a stockpile! I wish I could grow lavender, but it’s a constant uphill battle to grow it here (and repeated failure is depressing). I didn’t even know Lime Basil was a thing, I’ll have to try to track some down.

    1. I started some lavender last year and it never made it out into the garden, but the seedlings give off a really intense lavender scent just from touching the leaves so that is enough for me to keep trying to grow it from seed year after year. Good luck!
      I got the lime basil seeds from a burpee seed stand at a grocery store last year, maybe try their website.

Leave a Reply

