March 6, 2016

I didn’t have a specific thing I wanted to talk about today, I mostly wanted to jump around and give you a little update on what I have been doing. Mostly this is a record for myself when I am wondering when I sowed something, or when I potted it up, and when I have made my mind up on what varieties I am growing.

Yesterday, I potted up my Lemon Balm and Spearmint into 3″ pots, and the 6 Lavender plugs into a seed cell. All of those were sown on January 23rd, along with 12 plugs of Strawberries. It is amazing how fast the herbs grow comparatively. Only half of the strawberries germinated, and they are still developing their true leaves. The Lemon Balm could use a trim already!

I thought I already had my hot peppers picked out and sown, but then I found a pack of Serrano Peppers. Obviously, I had to buy them. I sowed 2 jiffy pellets of them. The seed packet says: “Serrano is a small, fiery hot Chilli pepper with a delayed fuse. It is one of the hottest peppers available. It is smaller and hotter than a jalapeño… A favourite in sizzling hot salsas and sauces and Asian dishes.” So it should be an interesting mix with the others I already sowed.

I also started 4 pellets of Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherries and 6 pellets of ‘Big Dipper’ Sweet Peppers. If you want a fun, hardy fruit to grow, try the ground Cherries. 2 years ago when I grew them, they were amazing. They are a bit tart, kind of pineapple-y? I don’t know exactly how to describe them, but they are great. I made a pie with them and it was delicious! Its definitely worth the space if you can fit them in. They want to sprawl out, but I’m going to try and do some in a container this year. We’ll see how it goes.

IMG_0251.JPG

I’ve also got some Mexican Purple Garlic stashed away. I found it in January at 40% off, because Fall is the time to plant them. I might pot them up into some paper pots, and put them out as soon as I can dig the ground enough to get them out. Spring is kind of here. It was nearly 20 degrees (Celsius) out yesterday! I mean, we could still get a huge dump of snow any time between now and the middle of June, but garlic is hardy, so it should be cool. It also needs cold in order to split into a bulb, so planting it earlier will be better in the long run.

My ‘Northern Gold’ onions I started from seed back in December and early January are doing well. Or I think they are. We’ll find out later in the year if all of this was a wasted effort or not. I will also pick up some sets so I get at least a few onions for cooking with. I am skipping Shallots and Leeks this year. I do have some shallots still in the ground and I may leave them there and see what they do this year.

On the flower front, The Hollyhocks are starting to pop up, and so are the Carnations. Still no sign of the Columbines, so my fingers are crossed tight that they will germinate… If not, I guess I’ll chuck a different seed in those cells and see what happens with them.

The little cacti are getting little pokers on them. As you can tell I use all the technical words around here. A few more weeks and I’ll do a legit update on them. As it stands, there isn’t a huge change in them to justify their very own update.

I’ve been picking up a bunch of different lettuce mixes, so keep an eye out for a post about them. Every year I seem to pick one thing that I become a little obsessive about it. This year seems to be lettuce.

It is still early in the day, so I will probably crack and end up sowing a few more things, But I’ll keep a record of it for future posts here. Leave any tips you have in the comments section below, and Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “March 6, 2016

Leave a Reply

