Update on the Cactus Experiment

Back at the beginning of January when I started to really get the gardening itch, I sowed a “Novelty Mix” of Cactus seeds that I had picked up a while ago.

img_3700

I really didn’t expect much. I didn’t put them in a sandy soil like the package said, just regular seed starting soil. And I didn’t see a whole lot of activity for about 2 weeks. I had them next to my little onion experiment that I was checking on, on the regular, and I really thought they were a bit of a waste of time. I had all the gardening doubt in my mind.  Maybe I left the seed sit for too long and they were no longer viable? Even though the packet did say it can take up to 60 days for germination to happen, I was still thinking “Its been 2 weeks and I still don’t have any growth! Maybe the seeds have gone bad.”

Luckily I let them stick around a little longer!

Because they have arrived! Look at the weird little nubs on the soil! The reddish ones started out kind of a bright green and have gradually been getting darker.

And they just keep going and getting bigger. Not in a “satisfying tomato seedling where it would be almost a tomato tree by now” -way, but in a “wow, this is a weird thing and I  actually got it to grow!” way.

I guess if they survive to being actual cacti I will get them some special cactus soil to live in. Also IF these all survive to being adult cacti I may have a few to spare… Cactuses for everybody at Christmas I guess!

Maybe the secret is the dog hair that has found its way onto the soil? 😉

3 thoughts on “Update on the Cactus Experiment

Leave a Reply

