Brassica Update

Since it has been over a month since I updated on my brassicas, I figured it is time for a post on them.

  
The ‘Di Ciroco (??)’ Broccoli is starting to make a head. YAY! 

The munchkin and Green Sprouting Broccoli are doing well too. I just realized I forgot to take their own picture and I am not at home to add one into this post.

  
The Pixie cabbage is adorable!

  
‘Dutchman f1’ cabbage and the ‘Earliana’ cabbage are both doing well. The Dutchman is a little behind and doesn’t have a prime spot, but we’ll see how it goes. I don’t remember 100% which variety is in the photo, but I believe it is Earliana.

  
Dinosaur Kale is doing awesome. I can probably start harvesting a few leaves soon. Fresh Kale chips are in my future!
  
And last but not least… The favourite child of the bunch: Brussels Sprouts (variety – ‘catskills’).

  
The netting has been doing a fantastic job at keeping the cabbage white butterflies away… Now I just need to figure out the best way to keep the chickweed at bay…

  
And here is a panorama of the whole brassica netted situation… I’m not a very smooth side-stepper, so there are some bumps in the photo.

 

Leave a Reply

