Sweet Peppers (2015)

IMG_1484

I sowed my sweet peppers on March 7th, and they are just starting to poke through now, so I thought I would write a quick post about the varieties.

We cook a lot with Bell peppers, and it would be nice if they could come from our own garden. So here it goes…

I’m going to hedge my bets a little here, and say that I haven’t had much success with peppers. But I also haven’t tried to grow them much.

Cabernet F1 – from McKenzie Seeds

Big Dipper – from Burpee Seeds

Colossal – from McKenzie Seeds (but not on their website for some odd reason)

California Wonder – from McKenzie Seeds

Hopefully, I will have a great harvest… or I will learn a lot about growing peppers in our backyard. Ideally, both of those things will happen.

Do you have any tips to share for growing peppers in places like Alberta, with long winters and short (usually) hot summers? Please share any helpful advice in the comments below.

IMG_1486

2 thoughts on “Sweet Peppers (2015)

    1. I have had good success with hot peppers… but these sweet ones are more stubborn for me… Even now, half of the seeds haven’t sprouted at all. They are such a moody vegetable… fruit?
      Good luck with your peppers!

Leave a Reply

