What Tomatoes for 2015?

IMG_1392

I am trying to narrow down which tomatoes to grow this year. Do you have any suggestions as to what I should try?

Currently in my seed collection:

  • Principe Borghese *
  • Tiny Tim *
  • Green Envy *
  • Golden Cherry
  • Yellow Pear
  • Cherry Mix (F1)  (I probably wont grow these ones this year)
  • Black Russian
  • Black Krim
  • Boxcar Willie
  • Orange Wellington
  • Mortgage Lifter
  • Brandywine Pink
  • Brandywine Red
  • Rainbow Blend (I probably won’t grow these this year either. I want to know what I am growing rather than guessing)
  • Roma VF
  • San Marzano *
  • Bonny Best
  • Marglobe
  • Manitoba *

I put stars by the ones I am currently leaning towards… Tiny Tim, Manitoba, Mortgage lifter, and Principe Borghese are all new to the collection and I haven’t tried them yet.  I still need to pick at least one Beef Steak type to grow as well.

The Golden Cherry and Yellow Pear went crazy last year and we had an amazing crop of them. So I may start a few of those also.

Do you have any suggestions on other seeds to keep an eye out for? Interested in a small Heirloom seed trade? Just leave a comment below and we can work something out.

IMG_1393

11 thoughts on “What Tomatoes for 2015?

  1. A couple of my favorites are:
    Green Grape – a larger yellow cherry type
    Green Zebra – medium yellow tomato (great taste and prolific producer)
    I am growing Black Krim this year as well. I gave Marglobe a whirl last year, someone had given me a couple of seedlings. I really liked the tomatoes for sauces. So many great tomatoes to choose from!

    Unfortunately I am out of seeds of the two favorites listed above. Hopefully I can get around to saving some this year.

    1. I’ve been on the hunt for some Green Zebra… I JUST found some Cherokee Purple, so I’m excited to try them out this year too. I loved my Black Krim and Black Russian tomatoes last year. And the Marglobes and Bonny Best were very prolific.
      If you can find some Green Envy (I think they are a Hybrid), Give them a try. They were our favourite cherry type tomato… I got the seed from Burpee.

  2. We planted Tiny Tims and found them very prolific but kind of useless…they were very tiny and we didn’t enjoy them nearly as much as regular sized cherry tomatoes because of the amount of skin and minimal amounts of yummy flesh. We love the yellow ones, Sun Gold are my kids favourite, we can never seem to get them in the house!

    1. I’ll keep that in mind with the Tiny Tims… If you can, try the Green Envy… They were so sweet and an all ’round favourite… Even my boyfriend thought they were the best ones, despite originally thinking they were not ripe.

      1. Do they need a greenhouse or can they go outside? Nova Scotia can be a bit picky for tomatoes but I am always looking for new yummy varieties! Where did you get the seed for Grren Envy? I have never heard of that one!

      2. I got the seed at Superstore in the Burpee stand… I had some in a greenhouse, one plant in my backyard just in a container, and my mom had a plant unprotected on her deck, and all the plants were amazing. The outside ones were a little sweeter than the greenhouse ones. They handled our crazy Alberta weather fine, so I would assume they would do ok out there.

      3. Hmmm…. i will have a peek at Superstore next time I am there, thanks! I grew some really neat large orange and yellow tomatoes last year from Incredible Seeds, a company here in Nova Scotia – Mennonite and Gold dust, they were amazing as well until they succumbed to late blight 😦

      4. Gold dust is one on my list to try and find…
        Sorry about your Blight… I have been lucky enough to never have that happen to mine.
        We did have something attack the San Marzano tomatoes last year… I think it was ants, they chewed all around the stem until the plants died… 1 out of 6 grew to produce like 8 tomatoes

      5. I tried San Marzano as well, i did a bit better than yours but they got kicked off the list. I was told to try Sub arctic plenty this year for a tasty, high yield early tomato, I hope to find that one this year as a new slicer. The Gold dust I bought were http://incredibleseeds.ca/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_40&products_id=294

        They did very well and were delicious and pretty, especially with red tomatoes, basil and balsamic vinegar!

      6. That is good to know about the Sub Arctic Plenty… I am excited to try them. Thanks for the link for the Gold dust, I may have to order some of those.

Leave a Reply

