Mice!!

November 23, 2014:

This morning, I woke up to my cats hunting.

I’m so proud, but I feel the need to cheer them on from on top of a chair.

I swear I’m a country girl, but mice just give me the heeby jeebies. I have toned down the screaming when I see one now.

Back in September, I thought I had sealed up every possible entry into the house with steel wool and sealant… But apparently not. These mice are brave. and their every move is being stalked by my precious felines.

“Precious Felines” makes me sound like a crazy cat lady doesn’t it? Well, I guess I kind of am, so we’ll go with it.

I opened my cupboards to help the kitties out, and there was a tail hanging down on the broken water line to the fridge… *shutter*  So I think some peppermint oil on cotton balls, and removal of that stupid water line that hasn’t worked in years is in order. Also a cleaning of every last crevice in my house.

I was worried that the cats wouldn’t take care of the mouse problem we seem to inevitably get every time the temperature drops. They were feral kittens, but I scooped them up away from their mom at the perfect age (8 weeks… don’t worry, I’m not a baby snatcher) to turn them into amazing house cats. (If you need a kitten, let me know, my parents live at the end of a no-exit road, and poor unsuspecting cats and kittens get dumped there all the time… Why can’t people just step up and take care of their pets?!?!) They were like young teenagers and feeling invincible and ready to take on the world… and very easy to win over with free food, and cuddles. I was worried they wouldn’t know how to catch a mouse, let alone kill one.

But there they are, stalking every corner in my kitchen like a well oiled team. (Plus they have caught two that I know of so far)

 

Update Today (December 7): I picked up peppermint oil! I dropped the peppermint oil on some cotton balls and placed them in all the known mouse areas last week. We haven’t heard anything from them. I no longer wake up to see my cats hunting my cupboard bases (or that pesky waterline that is more trouble than it is worth and will probably just stay there forever). You used to hear random scratching in the walls sometimes, closely followed by a cat running to whatever area it happened it, but none of that in the last week. Hopefully this was the non-toxic cure to the mouse problem. I’ll test it out in our garage next. There has been rodent activity in there too. Traps are only good if you have the time to change them when they catch something… I just want the damn mice to find a different home. Does anyone know of any other good mouse deterrents?

Leave a Reply

