Ground Cherry and Crab Apple Pie

Guys! I made this AMAZING Ground Cherry and Crab Apple Pie with Joy the Baker’s Buttermilk Pie Crust recipe. You can read about it over on my new blog. It is a joint project with one of my very best friends! I would love if you could like and subscribe and follow us over there! Hope everyone is having a great Fall so far!

2 Birds, 1 Stone

After growing ‘Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherries’ for the very first time this year, I wanted to make something with the fruits of my labour. At first, I was going to make jam of some variety with the fruit, but settled on a pie instead. Pie was an easy choice, as I have been wanting to test out Joy the Baker’s Buttermilk Pie crust recipe (which is a keeper!).

The Crab Apples and Ground Cherries compliment each other beautifully. The pie is sweet, without being overly sweet, and tart without being too cheek-puckering. I also added in a handful of cranberries to the mix which turned out to be an excellent decision. All the flavours joined forces in this wonderfully addictive pie. Nearly half of it was gone before Chris got home from work.

IMG_0251.JPG

If you are making any variety of pie, I would give Joy’s pie crust recipe a shot…

View original post 535 more words

Leave a Reply

