Container Potato Harvest 2014

I am sorry for the radio silence as of late. A bunch of my vegetables (namely my tomatoes that I’ve been tending tirelessly since February) at the greenhouse garden were stolen. I have been a little discouraged because of it, but don’t worry, I’m back and stronger than ever. It just serves as even more motivation to get our backyard ramped up for vegetables.

But you don’t want to read my random ramblings, so I’ll just get on with the gardening.

I just (literally!) harvested all my container potatoes in the backyard. The tops were looking a little worse for wear, so I chopped them and started digging. And look! So many perfect sized baby potatoes!

20140728-194726-71246077.jpg

From 6 plants, I got roughly 6 pounds of potatoes. Not too shabby!

They are beautiful gem tones too. It was a mix of a random red potato from last year, A Norland, 1 Yukon Gold, 1 German Butterball (probably the most prolific of the bunch), 1 Russian Blue, and 1 Purple Caribe.

The Purple Caribe was the only one that grew sizeable potatoes in this short time span. I will definitely be growing this variety again next year. They have been consistently good, both in the ground and in the container. Also interestingly, the seed potato doesn’t seem to rot. It stayed strong and was like it was just another potato being pulled… Only the skin turns brown.

The Russian Blue had the strongest tops and probably could have stayed on growing. Next year they will get their own container, so they can keep going even after I pull other kinds. They do have some scab on them, but it’s okay, they are still one of my most favourite. Ideas on how I can prevent this? The soil was all brand new purchased high-quality stuff… Nothing reused from last years potatoes. Just leave me a comment with your suggestions.

German Butterball. The roots were just COVERED in little potatoes. Kind of like a truss of Tomatoes. 100% will be growing these again. They taste awesome, they grow awesome, and their name just makes you want to try them doesn’t it?

As for the other three… Yukon Gold and Norland are trusty stand-byes. I wouldn’t leave them out if I have the room for them. However, I will probably focus on trying new and different varieties instead.

After 2 years of growing potatoes in containers in my backyard, I would, without a doubt recommend it. They don’t take up much space, don’t require much care, and it is very easy to search for your treasure when the time comes. I haven’t had any huge sizeable harvests, but this years is perfect for us. It seems to be the best and easiest way to get consistent new potatoes. I think this would be a great kid garden project. They can take some neglect from you as long as they can get sunlight and some rain once in a while.

I hope you are all having a great summer! Enjoy it while it’s here… Soon we will all be whining about winter again! Soak it up!

20140728-200828-72508509.jpg

2 thoughts on “Container Potato Harvest 2014

Leave a Reply

