Backyard Update – April 26/ 2014

20140426-100059.jpg

While I don’t have much to update here, I thought I would start anyway, since in a few short weeks, everything will be taking off. There are not a lot of pictures to show, but I’ll give you a quick rundown of some of the things going on out here. (Side note- That picture above is my pony. She obviously doesn’t live in my backyard, but I couldn’t resist putting her picture in here to counteract the lack of plant pictures)

Rhubarb – It really started poking thought the ground at the beginning of April. So I took the opportunity and added some recycled potting soil and compost around it. It really needs to be divided again, but I will wait until next year. I have plans to actually use the rhubarb this year (like Rhubarb Barbecue sauce), so I didn’t want to mess that up.

20140426-095859.jpg

Chives – I am always amazed at these. Popping up while it is still basically winter. And these ones overwintered in one of our coldest on record… In a pot! I can’t wait for their little flowers – and the bumble bees that love the flowers too.

20140426-095914.jpg

Delphiniums – Again, I am amazed at these. They come up early every spring. After spending some time underwater (the grading in our backyard is not well planned), and freezing and thawing and freezing and thawing. They are another favorite of the bees.

20140426-095925.jpg

Lupin – I bought this the first year we lived here, thinking it wouldn’t really live past the first year… but it did. And it is thriving! I have even discovered that although I thought I had taken all the seed heads off, It has self-seeded its self all over my flowerbed. I may let some live if they survive, but I will be adding in the few lupins that I started from seed, near this older plant, so I will get a cool mix of different colours.

Lillies– My lilies remind me of my grandma, and almost every year, she buys a new variety and shares it with my cousin and I – so all 3 of us get one. I have mixed them all up, so I don’t know which is which until they flower anymore, but they are still gorgeous. Want more info? Here are pictures from my 2012 Lily garden.

Clematis – I wish I could grow clematis even a quarter as good as my grandma can. I don’t know if this plant is going to come back this year, but I’ll keep hoping. If It doesn’t, I may wait until we have our own house to try again.

I will show you pictures of the whole yard once we get everything cleaned up from this long winter.

One thought on “Backyard Update – April 26/ 2014

Leave a Reply

