March 23/2014 Garden Update (Herbs and Flowers)

Yesterday I updated you on the progress of all the edibles, saving today for Herbs and Flowers.

We go through a lot of “Italian seasoning” around here because of the amount of spaghetti we end up having for dinner on work nights. It’s fast, easy and cheap. And the majority of the ingredients we typically use, we can stock up on and keep in the cupboard. I made it a goal to try and make my own. So this year, I am growing all the “spices” listed in the ingredients. The few I don’t have yet (like Rosemary) I will purchase as already started plants.

Sage and Parsley
(started Feb. 15)
They are doing pretty good. The parsley really reaches for the light, so as soon as I have a warm enough place, they will be moving.

20140323-165550.jpg

Oregano, Thyme, Summer Savory, Marjoram
(started: March 9th, March 15, March 15, and March 17)
They are all forming little green carpets of sprouts in their little pots. No true leaves yet, but they are only a week (give or take) old.

20140323-165439.jpg

Basil
(started: March 15)
Tiny sprouts. Will start more to go by tomato plants in the next couple weeks. I need to replenish my seed starting supplies.

20140323-165505.jpg
Basil on the left
Catnip on the right

Garlic Chives
(started: March 15)
I started these in a peat pot and they have been quite a lot slower than anticipated. BUT I usually place plastic wrap over the edges of pots to help speed germination, and these didn’t get that treatment. They are just barely starting to poke through the surface now.

Spearmint
(started: February 28)
These are like tiny little green carpets on the peat pellet they were started in. They have just got their true leaves, and some are starting on their second set. I will have to pot them up soon.

20140323-165541.jpg

Catnip
(started: March 15)
Sprouted within a couple days! I am kind of looking forward to having my own catnip plant… I’m sure Ekki and Hali (my cats) are too.

Lavender
(started: March 5)
These are working on true leaves. When you brush your hand over the little seedlings, they release that relaxing lavender scent already. Sniffing my seedlings could become a problem. I may end up keeping one in a pot in the house just for aroma therapy!
2 years ago I had a beautiful Lavender plant in the yard, but Wilson (my little dog) peed all over it an it died. Hopefully I can keep him away from these ones.

20140323-165530.jpg

Lemon Balm
(started: January 1)
I could probably spend a good, solid half hour talking endlessly about Lemon Balm. I love it. I have already been “harvesting” from my little plants, to help encourage them to grow bushy, rather than tall.

20140323-165516.jpg

Those are all of my herbs so far. Now onto the flowers:

20140323-165453.jpg
Viola and Bee Balm

ColumbineΒ (started: March 15)

These are slow to germinate… but I think I see some trying to poke through the surface. I may start some earlier next year.

Hollyhocks (started: March 15)

These jumped up almost immediately. They will be ready to be potted up soon.

Viola (started: February 28)

Slowly working on their true leaves.

Bee Balm (started: March 12)

Sprouted a few days ago. We had these in the flower bed at one house growing up, and I remember just watching all the butterflies on them. Fingers crossed that they will attract the butterflies (and bees, and all the other pollinators) here too. If I can get them to maturity… I failed last year.

That is all that is growing right now. As soon as I have more room (and seed starting supplies) I will start more basil and few other flowers. I have been thinking of adding some chamomile to my herb/flower area, so I may try and find some of those seeds soon.

Here is the link to last week’s Herb and Flower update.

Leave a Reply

