Sourdough – DAY 1

I wanted to do something here to fill in the gaps before my seeds start coming up, and I start planting more. I stare them down everyday willing them to start poking through the soil, but still nothing to report…
And so we have sourdough. It’s easy to make yourself…. If you like that sort of thing…. Because obviously it is easier to go to a store and buy a loaf of sourdough bread. This is actually an involved process, but still relatively easy.
I let my starter die a while back, so I wanted to make a new one anyway. Perfect opportunity! Come back everyday for an update on my starter. If you are looking for more info, do a google search of “food wishes sourdough” because I am following Chef John’s method on this.

So without anymore chatter… This is what happens:

1) get yourself a large-ish plastic (or glass) container. Keep the lid, but set it aside for now.

2) take 1 cup of warm water (not hot!), and 1 cup of bread flour, and whisk it together in the aforementioned container.

3) cover the container with a piece of paper towel and an elastic band. This lets air circulate, but keeps critters (or your pets hair) out of your new colony of wild yeast.

4) stir this periodically if you feel compelled. I will stir it in the morning before I go to work, but that’s all… Until tomorrow.

Comeback tomorrow for Day2.

20140224-211313.jpg

20140224-211329.jpg

20140224-211339.jpg

Leave a Reply

