Blood Type Diet? Is there anything to it?

I’m sure you have heard of the “Eat Right for your Type” diet. It is about what foods you should (and shouldn’t) eat based on your blood type. I find it interesting. I’m not a diet-er. I am pro making healthy-er choices though. And not stressing too much about food, because that is a dirty spiral into bad feelings for this girl (but let’s stay away from that deep dark black hole here). Side note: I read a really interesting post a few minutes ago about the number one “ingredient” to avoid.

A few days ago, I had to get some blood tests done, and that got me thinking about this again. What I find most interesting about this “diet” is that in it, the foods that I am supposed to be eating, are the ones that I tend to crave (other than chocolate and coffee and sugar… we are talking real foods here).

I crave fruits and vegetables, and grains… a lot. I get into weird moods where I only feel like eating things like kale and apples and granola. I’m not a vegetarian, but if I had to go out and kill my own food – I probably would be… I would look that poor beef cow in the eyes, and then decide that there is probably room in the house for it to cuddle up at night with all the rest of us… and it would become a pet instead of a steak. I would honestly have a harder time giving up bread than giving up meat.

According to the blood type diet, I, as a “Type A” should be eating a vegetarian diet, with little to no animal protein. I should be eating things as close to their natural state as possible. It stems from my ancestors who evolved from being hunter-gatherers to being farmers… Instead of hunting animals, they grew grains. (And in the last couple hundred years, the vast majority of my ancestors have been farmers) LiveStrong’s article on this topic states “Type A individuals tend to have low levels of acid in the stomach and high levels of digestive enzymes in the small intestines. This balance of acids and enzymes makes it easier to digest carbohydrates, and much more difficult to digest and metabolize animal protein and fat.”

While I won’t become a vegetarian any time in the near future, I do find this fascinating, based on my own weird food cravings. Do you follow this “diet” at all? Leave a comment below if you have anything to share… And obviously, take this with a grain of salt. I have 2 friends, both with O-Type blood. One is a strict vegetarian, the other is a self proclaimed “meatasaurus” and is a big fan of Paleo.

To finish this quick post, I would like to say, that I AM NOT telling anyone how they should or shouldn’t be eating. I find it very distasteful when people do that. I don’t want to make anyone feel like shit about the food they choose to eat. We are all fighting our own battles, and I am not about to make that any harder than it needs to be. I am mostly just curious if you have weird cravings that match (or don’t) with your blood type according to this theory of eating.

One last thing… Look at how cute my animals are:IMG_4236

Leave a Reply

