Seed Potatoes – Deciding what to order

I am currently immersed in trying to decide which seed potatoes to order. There are too many options before me, and the more I read their descriptions, the more I want to grow all of them. This decision is much harder than I anticipated. Here are a few that I am the most smitten with:

Pink Fir Apples– This is a heritage variety, that is long, narrow and knobbly. They are so ugly they are beautiful. Their skin is a mixture of white and pink, and their insides are yellow. Apparently they are wonderful for salads, and have a great flavour. According to The European Cultivated Potato Database, Pink fir Apples, have a low ability to resist blight, and a high ability to resist scab. I wanted to grow them myself, after I saw a few of my favourite YouTube gardening shows growing them. I was inspired… Which is how I found out about Eagle Creek Farms (link at the end of this post). I searched for where to buy Pink Fir Apple seed potatoes in Alberta. 

Russian Blue – This is also a heritage variety. The skin is a deep blue/purple, and their insides are purple with white – the purple varies in intensity depending on the potato. We had a lot of scab on our purple potatoes in 2013, but I cannot find much information about this variety in terms of resistance to scab or blight, I just know that I love purple potatoes, so there is no doubt that I will be ordering these.

German Butterball – This is an Heirloom variety, the name alone is what drew me to this one. Some claim it is so delicious and sweet you would be committing a crime by putting butter on it. It apparently it is a heavy producer of potatoes with a long storage ability. 

Alaska Sweetheart – This one was developed in Alaska, so I should hope it does well in our cold climate also. The flesh of this one has red-pink tones in it, So we are excited to try it. Can you tell we like colourful vegetables?

Warba – Another heritage variety. These are round, with colourful red, deep set eyes.

There will also likely be Norland and Yukon Gold, and some kind of Russet Potato, grown in large amounts. And I may just buy Eagle Creek’s Fingerling Variety pack as well.

Have you grown any of these varieties? Do have other suggestions for me to try? Leave a comment, and let me know.

 

Oh, and if you are curious, we will be ordering from Eagle Creek Farms just as soon as I make my mind up. 

2 thoughts on “Seed Potatoes – Deciding what to order

  1. So interesting to read about your potential selections! I haven’t grown potatoes in my garden yet, but LOVE the fingerling potatoes my parents grow each year. I will be looking forward to seeing what you ultimately select and how they do!

    1. I have only (knowingly) had fingerling potatoes when I was living in England, so I am excited to try them myself.
      Thanks for the comment! I’m excited to have found something more than the regular varieties to grow.

Leave a Reply

