Coconut Butter Granola

20140101-110905.jpg

I spent  a “little” time on Pinterest the other night.

I was looking at gardening things mostly.

And food.

And crafts.

And horses (always horses, despite the number of pins I actually have on my Pinterest board about them).

All of this, while I was working on the Coconut Butter post. So I had coconut butter on my mind, and in my mouth… And then on my Pinterest Feed. ..

How Sweet Eats posted a Coconut Butter Granola post back in February, last year. And I had to make it right now.

So I did, only I changed a few things. Adding Quinoa was a delicious decision, that I am glad I made. Maple Syrup added a nice sweet flavour, because I was out of regular honey.

20140101-110920.jpg

Coconut Butter Granola

2.5 cups Old Fashioned Rolled Oats

1 cup Sliced Almonds

1 cup flaked Coconut

1/2 cup Quinoa

1/2 tsp. Sea Salt

Toss the above ingredients together in a large bowl. Have a large wooden spoon on standby, because you will need it when things get hot…

2/3 cup Real Maple Syrup

1/2 cup Coconut Butter

2 tbsp Butter

2 tsp. Pure Vanilla Extract

Melt the above ingredients in a small saucepan – Stir to combine while melting.

20140101-110945.jpg

Pour over the tossed dry ingredients, and stir with the wooden spoon until everything is coated in the Coconut Butter/Maple Syrup solution.

Spread out on the prepared baking sheet, and bake for 10 minutes, then toss everything around, then bake for 10 minutes and toss everything around, then 5 minutes, then toss, then 5 minutes, then toss… You get the idea. Once everything is a nice golden colour, stop baking and tossing. You don’t want to burn it. I ended up doing about 35-40 minutes of baking total – with the 2 rounds of ten minutes, and then 3-4 rounds of five minutes.

Let this sit for at least an hour to cool, and then pour into glass jars, to store. It should keep about 2 weeks, if it lasts that long.

20140101-110933.jpg

PS: Your house will smell AAAAA-MAZZZZZZZ-ING after you make this… In case you needed an extra nudge to make it.

4 thoughts on “Coconut Butter Granola

Leave a Reply

