Gardening Goals for 2014

I wanted to take a break from all the recipes to get back to the gardening side of things… The Spring Fever has started to kick in a little bit, and I really want to start putting some seeds into dirt. So instead, I thought I would outline some goals I have for the coming year. Maybe I will revisit this page next September and October and see how everything turned out… or didn’t.

1. Grow Garlic.  I would love to be able to grow my entire year supply of garlic (with extras for my friends and family) within 5 years. No more Chinese garlic for this kid.

20131224-210748.jpg

2. Grow a Pumpkin. My mom gave me a pumpkin growing kit… Hopefully it works out.

20131224-210648.jpg

3. Grow Beans and preserve them!   Cal and I are planning many canning parties! (We need to grow at least enough beans for 6 people for the year)

4. Zucchini!! This is will be my year for Zucchini (because I have somewhere it will be safe from Hail!!!)

20131224-210842.jpg

5. Tomatoes… And preserve them (see number 3)

6. I want to grow Pink Fir Apples… with a burning passion. (They are a variety of Fingerling Potatoes)

7. Every year I set out to try and grow at least one new thing. The list of things for 2014 (which will probably get downsized to be more realiistic)is: Broccoli, Cabbage, Leeks, Brussels Sprouts, Sunflowers (to the point of getting seeds, not just a beautiful flower), a wider variety of herbs, Patty Pan squash… and some of the things I already listed above).

8. I want to stay on top of the weeds…Which is easier said than done.

9. My biggest preservation goal is to take the harvest and stretch it out so at Christmas next year, I can have vegetables that I grew on the table, rather than more store bought things.

10. I want to stop the gophers from stealing all out beet seeds again.

11. Strawberries… We may try them in a gutter at the greenhouse… Does anybody have success with this method?

12. Ground Cherries… These look awesome…. They might be planted in some dirt around here somewhere… Does anybody have an experience with them…. growing and/or eating?

13. I need to find a way to keep the evil squirrel away from the crab apple tree… The dogs are no help.

14. More KALE…. a lot more Kale!

20131224-211106.jpg

15. Actually get Sweet Potatoes into large containers instead of having them living in the window sill in a Jar until it is too late to put them outside.

20131224-211000.jpg

I am sure I will think of a TON more things as the Spring Fever kicks into full gear… Until then, Thank you so much for reading, Have a great holiday season, and all the best to you in 2014!!

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Gardening Goals for 2014

  1. Wishing you all the best for your 2014 plans 😀 have you try seed bombs? they say it would help to prevent the seeds from being “stolen”. never try it myself but might worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

