Dreamy Spiced Apple Butter

<NOTE: I meant to post this on the 15th, but I fell asleep at my desk instead… a day later than I intended, but here it is>

20131216-153431.jpg

Apparently in my kitchen this year, ’tis the season to add spices to everything/ make everything “spiced”.

I got up at 6am. Earlier than I normally do when I have to be at work. It is now 11pm and I have only taken a few short breaks from cooking/baking/making everything “spiced”.
Today puts all other mass cooking days to shame! And the worst part? I can’t even tell you about most of the things I made today. They are all gifts… From my heart/Pinterest board/spice cabinet.

But I will tell you that I made Apple Butter today. It was the first thing I started, and the last thing I finished. It took all day! That sounds like I had to actively do things the whole time… Except that I didn’t. The hardest part was peeling, coring and chopping the 6 lbs of apples.

It is super easy, and seriously delicious. So much so that I am contemplating hoarding it all for myself. Except then I would have to figure out something else to give people in its place, and, well… Ain’t nobody got time for that.

20131216-153401.jpg

If you have a slow cooker, and an immersion blender (go buy yourself one for an early Christmas present, you deserve it after all the Christmas baking), then this recipe will be a cake walk for you. It is simple, and for the most part, hands-off. You just sit back, let the slow cooker, slowly cook…and you stir the apples occasionally. See… Super easy!

You will need about 5-6 pounds of apples, basically as much as your slow cooker will hold once they are all
Peeled and cored and chopped into about 1 inch pieces.
After all your apple pieces are in the slow cooker, add:
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar (the original recipe called for 1 1/2 cups if sugar- half brown, half white)
2 tsp. Cinnamon
1/2 tsp. Cloves
1/4 tsp. Ginger
1/4 tsp. Nutmeg

Lightly toss together, then turn the slow cooker onto high for the first hour. Stirring every 10-15 minutes.
Once this hour is up, turn the heat to low, and them stir every hour, more often if you feel like.

This is going to cook for about 10-12 hours.

At about hour 9, you will want to get your fancy new Christmas present from yourself immersion blender in there, and purée the crap out of those apples. We want smooth dreamy apple butter not apple sauce.
Then leave it to cook down to the consistency and thickness you want, just keep stirring. You may want to keep a more diligent eye on it from here on out, stirring more often.

20131216-153442.jpg

I canned my jars of apple butter, in a water bath canner for 20 minutes… The recipe said 10, so I tacked on some bonus time because of my altitude here. I will be recommending to any gift recipients to use this by January 15. If it lasts that long… I need to give it away or I’m going to eat it all!  I do want to caution everyone, to follow a specific canning recipe. Here is the recipe I adapted mine from.

20131216-153514.jpg

2 thoughts on “Dreamy Spiced Apple Butter

Leave a Reply

