Cranberry Raspberry Apple Crisp

Apple crisp is one of my favourite cold weather foods.

20131117-180431.jpg

Well, actually, it is one of my favourite foods. Forget the cold weather. I love this dish all the time. A warm bowl of apple crisp with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream ALWAYS reminds me of home. And it is probably the one thing my mom taught me to make, that I consistently make again and again and again. If you have never made Apple Crisp… DO IT! For something so simple, it is incredibly satisfying.

It is a really adaptable thing. You cut up enough (peeled and cored) apples to fit into the dish you are going to be using, toss them with a little lemon juice (if you have it… it tastes just fine if you don’t use it) and some cinnamon. and set them aside… or do the next part first, since one of the main reasons you use the lemon juice is to keep the apples from turning brown in the air (but also to add a little tartness). I should also note here, that you can use as many varieties of apples as you feel like. One of the best apple crisps I ever made had a mix of older Gala apples I had on my counter, some crab apples and some other unknown variety from my boss (at the time’s) mom. The combination of flavours melded perfectly, and it was a huge hit all around.

The next step involves getting your hands dirty. You can use kitchen tools, if you like, but I have found that the easiest and fastest way to get this done, is to get your hands in there. Get a mixing bowl, and add in about 1/2 cup All Purpose flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1/4 cup granulated white sugar, and about 1 tsp of ground cinnamon (more or less depending on your fondness of cinnamon… I usually opt for more, because I love it). Cut into this, 1/2 cup of softened butter… mix until the mixture is crumbly and there are no large pieces of butter left. Now, mix in about 1/2 cup of Old Fashioned rolled oats… Don’t use quick oats for this… they will just get gummy and kind of ruin the whole thing. Set this aside and move onto the next part. The measurements here will roughly provide enough topping for an 8×8 inch square baking dish, so adjust as needed to the dish you chose.

20131117-180532.jpg

Take the dish you will be using, and grease it. Grab your cut up apples, and put them in the dish. Add in any other fruit you will be using (This is were I added in the cranberries and raspberries – both were from my freezer). Toss them with a little brown sugar and cinnamon (adjust to your own taste), and about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of the old fashioned rolled oats (or granola is a nice option here). Roughly arrange in the dish, and lightly press down. Cover with the topping you made in the previous step.

Bake at 350F until the topping is a nice golden brown. It should take about 45  to 60 minutes.

The “recipe” above is roughly adapted from the one at Joy of Baking. Mostly I just simplified it and make it work with whatever I have on hand when I make it.

I just realized that one of my very favourite food bloggers, Joy the Baker, has a recipe for Apple Crisp in her awesome Cook Book! She called it Man Bait Apple Crisp. Interestingly enough, Apple Crisp (this recipe, not Joy’s) is the very first thing I ever baked for my boyfriend. Like, 2 weeks into our relationship… over 4 years ago now. Maybe Apple Crisp is the trick to baiting men? (Long before her cook book came out, she posted this apple crisp recipe on her blog. Before she called it Man Bait, she called it Sit and Stay a while Apple Crisp… Its a good one, but I still prefer the simplicity of mine).

Make this for someone you love… or maybe someone you would maybe like to love someday? Enjoy!

20131117-180510.jpg

Leave a Reply

