Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

20131116-192115.jpg

I may have a teeny bit of an obsession with squash right now. For example, I roasted Pumpkin seeds when we carved our Halloween pumpkins earlier in October; I made roasted butternut squash purée, and with that, some Ravioli… And roasted butternut squash seeds. And in the summer squash department, I have a life long obsession with Zucchini as it is.

As I mentioned in my Squash Seeds Post, I wanted to try Acorn Squash Seeds. Which is what has led to this soup. It seemed wasteful to buy some squash just for the seeds, So I needed to find a little something to make with the squash.

Soup seemed like the best option, Given that the weather has left my front step looking like this:

I cut the squash in half lengthwise, and then roasted them, cut side down in the oven at about 400F, for about 45 minutes.

20131116-192328.jpg

After they cooled enough to handle, I scraped out the flesh, and set it aside.

In a saucepan, I heated up an 1/4 cup unsalted butter over medium heat. I added chopped onion, and seasoned with salt and pepper.  Once the onion was translucent, I mixed in the squash. Then slowly added in a tetrapak of low sodium, ready to use chicken broth (900ml). Once everything is a similar temperature, and starting to come together, you move onto the next step.

In small batches, you then purée the mixture in a blender (or in my case, my magic Bullet), until everything is nice and creamy smooth.  Return the purée to the saucepan and bring to a slow simmer. Add in about 1/2 cup of half and half, and season as you feel fit. Thin if needed by adding water.

20131116-192253.jpg

I will be freezing some of it, and will wait until we bring it out of the freezer to add the cream.

This was adapted from Martha Stewart’s “Acorn Squash Bisque” Recipe.

As for the Roasted Acorn Squash Seeds. I did them exactly the same as I always do. You can read more in the squash seeds post. I still think the butternut seeds are my favourite though.

20131116-192204.jpg

One thought on “Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

