Alberta Wild Rose Hip and Apple Jelly…. That turned out as syrup!

EDIT: my jelly turned out more as a syrup… But I’m leaving this post as is. I will also be trying a different recipe hopefully this fall after I collect more hips.

Remember last week when I asked if anyone had made anything with rose hips? Well… I finally did it! I have actually made a few things… But for now I’ll stick with telling you about the jelly.

A quick Google search will give you a ton of links to different recipes. I wanted to try and stick to a recipe that was made in Alberta, and with a little luck, I found a blog called Cabin Organic. She is a little farther north than me, but still close in the grand scheme of things. You should go and read her post (I linked it above) about the Rose Hip Jelly that she made, it was very inspiring. And it was with this inspiration that I convinced my mom to help me pick rose hips while I was visiting home earlier this week. We found the motherload of them just about a mile from the house and were picking under the full moon. It was nice to just pick hips and chat with my mom, we didn’t really realize how late it was until we couldn’t see the hips any more.

20130824-122107.jpg

So once I got back to my house last night… I got to work. And just a word of caution to everyone… It takes a long time just to de-stem and take the spent blossoms off. (Also: if you are going to make a jam rather than jelly… You need to take all the seeds and seed hairs out too, as they are an irritant to us humans)

(I will add the recipe at the end of the post)

So once you finally get the hips de-stemmed an de-blossomed… Wash them really well… You don’t want any dust from the gravel roads or any bugs left on them.

Put the hips into a stainless steel (NOT aluminium- it destroys the vitamin C) sauce pan with the water. Add some spice now if you choose. I put in 2 whole cloves and a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon- for just a hint of spice in the jelly. Cook the fruit until soft. This will take about 20-30 minutes. You can take a potato masher and gently mash the fruit a little while you are cooking to help extract the juice.

Put the super soft fruit into jelly bags and suspend them over bowls for a few hours – or overnight.

20130824-123628.jpg

Once the juice is done being extracted (Thanks gravity!), put into a saucepan with 1/2 cup of fresh lemon juice, and a box of Certo pectin crystals. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil for 2 minutes, and then stir in the sugar. Bring back up to a hard boil for 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat, and pour into sterilized jars. Leaving 1/4inch head space. I boiling-water-processed my jars for 30 minutes. But if you live at a lower altitude than I do, you shouldn’t have to process for that long. I based the timing off of the crab apple jelly I made last year.

20130824-124257.jpg

Alberta Wild Rose Hip and Apple Jelly

8 cups cleaned Alberta Wild Rose Hips
2 apples cut into chunks
6 cups of water
Spices of choice

Boil as per instructions in post above.

4 cups of the prepared juice
1/2 cup lemon juice
1 box Certo pectin crystals
4-5 cups of granulated sugar (as per your taste- I used 4 cups, Cabin organic used 3 in her jelly)

Follow directions in post above for the jelly making.

Also- before you start, Wikipedia search for where you live and find the altitude/elevation. Mine is: 1,089 m (3,573 ft)… (Here is the Wikipedia link for Airdrie, AB) Then find out how much time you should add for processing. I would guess 10-15 minutes is a good place to start. You can find a similar jelly recipe and base the timing off of it for your water bath canning. Here is the handy altitude chart from Bernardin (Probably the biggest resource for canning in Canada)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

