First onion of 2013

20130724-115236.jpg

I harvested one of my onions I have in a container in my yard. It was smaller, but I just couldn’t resist. This is the first time I have been able to grow them with any kind of success. The last few years my onions grow the green tops, but never bulb up.

While I am not a huge fan of onions anyway, tasting one that I grew all on my own was kind of nice! It didn’t have a huge onion flavour and it was a little sweet. If all onions tasted like this one did, I may have different onion preferences.

I added it in with some of the potatoes that I harvested a couple weeks ago, and some green and yellow Zucchini I picked up from the store. It is so nice to be eating veggies that I grew myself.

This is all for now. I am still putting some finishing touches on the longer posts I am putting together, I hope to have at least 2 of them posted by the end of August. While I would love to say they will be up by the end of this month, I can’t. My schedule is just too hectic until August.

20130724-115540.jpg

Leave a Reply

