Follow Along Friday (April 5, 2013)

New this week: My kittens were both spayed on Tuesday, and are recovering well! Hali tried to do a little too much too soon, and has been a little slower to recover than Ekki. However, I am excited that I will never have to hear Ekki screaming to attract all the neighbourhood cats to our yard. (seriously-one morning I let the dogs out and there was 5 random neighbourhood cats out there! FIVE!)… In related news: My bank account should recover from the spaying sometime in August.

IMG_3944

Sweet Potatoes:

I discovered that the sweet potatoes I bought were white inside… Turns out that they are “Japanese” or “oriental” sweet potatoes. They are apparently not as sweet as the typical sweet potato… And I guess I should probably go and buy another one to taste them and see if we even like eating them… If we don’t end up enjoying their flavour, I will still try and grow them… Their foliage is beautiful an they are growing sooo fast! I have potted one to keep in the house as a house plant, and the others I will try outside as soon as possible (which won’t be that soon in all honesty)

So just in case, I went and bought a whole new (normal) sweet potato to try and grow more slips. I figure if they don’t grow in time I can still trade some of my purple “oriental” sweet potato slips for some of my friend Cal’s regular slips, and we can both experiment with both types.

IMG_3979      IMG_3980

Apple Seedling:

I am officially down to only one seedling. But this one little seedling has 2 sets of true leaves, and it is working on more… It is growing strong! Its a little funny how proud I am of this little seedling.

IMG_3977

Seed Potatoes:

Doing very well… Look at all that growth… in just a few more weeks they will be in the ground and can get to growing me some new potatoes!

IMG_3990

Assorted Seedlings:

All doing well. I have parsley, sage, lemon balm, spearmint and a bunch of Viola’s all beginning to sprout.

IMG_3985

It is finally starting to feel like Spring outside! Robins are singing… We had a woodpecker drumming on the side of our house before he realized it was metal, and then moved to a neighbours tree… The grass is even starting to take on a greenish tinge already… Soon leaf buds will be dotting the bare trees and I can start planting some things in the ground….

Here are the links back to the previous Follow Along Friday posts:

March 29, 2013

March 22, 2013

March 15, 2013   

March 8, 2013

March 1, 2013

February 22, 2013

February 15, 2013

One thought on “Follow Along Friday (April 5, 2013)

Leave a Reply

