Seed Germination Test

While it does seem a lot like spring outside… The weather will (almost undoubtedly) change back to cold at least once before actual spring happens.

But my rhubarb is starting to poke out of the ground, and some grass is starting to take on a greenish tinge

So some planting will be taking place in the near future.

To help my green thumbs calm down a bit, I decided that I should test the viability of some of my seeds- Just the ones that I have left over from last year. I was digging around in my shed today and found 2 packets of seeds from last year out there, and I am interested to find out if they are still viable after waiting out the hot summer and then the cold winter out in the shed.

With this little test, I should be able to determine the approximate percentage of seeds that are still viable. And then I can plan the planting a little better.

IMG_3922

What you will need:

  • Plastic sandwich bags
  • paper towel
  • water
  • a window
  • seeds to test

I have 6 sets of seeds to test: peas, beans, beets, carrots, and two lettuce varieties.

IMG_3923

What to do:

  • Lightly moisten the paper towel
  • place about 10 seeds evenly spaced apart on the paper towel
  • fold the paper towel over onΒ  top of itself
  • place in the plastic bag
  • place bag where it will receive some sunlight in a warm location (ie: your window sill)
  • Check in a week for signs of germination.

I just did these today, and I will update you on the results in a week… stay tuned! For more information on how to test your seeds for germination, check this website.

One thought on “Seed Germination Test

Leave a Reply

