Follow Along Friday (March 29, 2013)

IMG_3867

It’s Friday again! Time to update the internet on all the growing things in my house…

Sweet Potatoes:

IMG_3863

These things are GOING OFF (as seems to be the norm these last few weeks) And they seem to be of the climbing/vineing variety too…  Hopefully the weather keeps up this streak of amazing sunshine, and I can start putting these things in real dirt and potentially have them outside!

Apple Seeds:

IMG_3861

The few seedlings that I had left in the paper towel way longer than I intended.. I think that only one or two of them survived… But there is one going strong, and I am going to keep documenting that one as we go.

Seed Potatoes:

IMG_3865

I found some organic blue potatoes at the grocery store and I am dedicating them to grow me some new ones… And they are sprouting wonderfully! All the other varieties that I have been slowly accumulating are also sprouting – I just didn’t think I should upload pictures of every variety… maybe once summer comes and they are all growing.

Herbs:

IMG_3858

Last week, I told you about the Herbs that I started… Well, One of the Parsley seeds is starting to do it’s thing… (so exciting).  Last night I also planted some Lemon Balm and Spearmint. And I have some Dill seeds just waiting for the last frost. I will be buying already started plants of any other herb that I am wanting to grow from here on out. -namely basil to plant with my Tomatoes (which I also buy already started)

Seeds:

I seem to have developed a seed-buying compulsion. I want to grow ALL the things, and sometimes I forget that I have a teeny tiny yard… But so far, I will be growing at least 3 different Carrot varieties, 2 pea varieties, 2 bean varieties, I’ll probably end up with more lettuce seeds, but right now I only have some Iceberg waiting for spring… Well, and spinach and Kale, but those are technically different.. I have some pickling cucumbers, and some Zucchini, Beets, Strawberries… and that is it… for now. I am also attempting onions again… wish me luck..

IMG_3866.

Any advice would be great… I trying to figure out a way to be able to cover and protect the sweet potatoes during the season of “sprinter” when Mother Nature doesn’t seem to be able      to decide if it is Spring, or if it is Winter… Tender sweet potatoes probably won’t appreciate a big dump of snow. Any ideas?

Here are all the previous F.A.F. posts:

March 22, 2013

March 15, 2013   

March 8, 2013

March 1, 2013

February 22, 2013

February 15, 2013

4 thoughts on “Follow Along Friday (March 29, 2013)

  1. I started dill, mint, cilantro, and a bunch of other herbs in my windowsill greenhouse, and they’re all sprouting beautifully, and everything had a growth spurt this last week! Yay for Spring!

Leave a Reply

