Key Lime Pie

IMG_1183

Every year, around this time, the weather here starts to warm up and be almost spring-like. (Don’t be fooled, it is still VERY much winter! But it’s a nice break from the cold) So when this happens, my spring fever (and summer fever!) starts to kick in. I start looking at gardening pages all over the internet. I meander through gardening sections at the stores, and stop myself from going to the gardening centre on a stalker-like basis. I fall asleep dreaming of all the tomatoes and beets and carrots and flowers and green grass, and big leafy trees. But I wake up to snow and blowing wind, and wind chill warnings. To help hold onto the warm sunshine-y feelings, I cope by making Key Lime Pie.

IMG_1184

You can find the super-cute Key Limes all over the grocery stores around this time of year, so it is like a sign from the universe! Grab some Key Limes and make yourself a taste of summer!

I got the recipe from Cook. Eat. Love  and it is ah-mah-zing… although I skipped the whipped topping and the homemade crust for these photos.
Key Lime Pie (filling)

4 egg Yolks
2/3 cup Fresh Squeezed Key Lime Juice
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
zest from 2 KEY limes (finely grated)

Whip the yolks with the lime zest in a stand mixer until they are nice and fluffy (about 6 minutes)
Slowly and gradually add the can of condensed milk and beat until thick (about 5 minutes)
Turn the mixer speed to the lowest setting (I used “stir” on my Kitchenaid), slowly add the lime juice, and mix until everything comes together nicely. (A few seconds on a faster speed just at the end to make sure everything is together)
Pour into a prepared graham cracker crust. (This recipe JUST fits into a store bought crust… just be careful moving it around)
Bake about 15-20 minutes, or until the filling has just set…(It won’t be wobbly any more)
Cook on a wire rack until room temperature, and then refrigerate at least 20 minutes before serving. It should be cold when you serve it, not warm.

IMG_1188

I blogged this recipe on my other older blog on April 30, 2012. Here is the link if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

