Follow Along Friday (February 15, 2013)

This year, I am trying to stretch my gardening muscle a little, and trying a few new things.

For starters, I want to attempt to get some apple seeds to germinate and start growing… and ideally become a tree one day. Even if I can just get them to grow into little plants, I will be happy.

Secondly, I am currently attempting to root a sweet potato… Hopefully I can get some slips off of it, and then hopefully they will grow.

That is a lot of “hopefully”sย  But they are experiments. Every Friday, I am going to post their progress. And maybe add a few more things as planting time gets closer.

Here are my apple seeds: They are currently living in a moist paper towel in a plastic sandwich bag in the fridge… in a few weeks I will take them out and put them into some sunlight… Hopefully

IMG_3398

IMG_3394

Apple Seeds- week 2
Apple Seeds- week 2

And the Sweet Potato: Day 4: Roots are starting to show up

IMG_3368IMG_3365

Do you have any gardening experiments going on? Any tips for my apple and sweet potato adventures? A Funny joke to tell?

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Follow Along Friday (February 15, 2013)

  1. I think because we live where it’s always damp (the Pacific Northwest) my sweet potatoes start rooting in my cabinet or where ever I store them. I had one turn into a tentacled monster before I could cook it.

    1. My regular potatoes always start sprouting. But I hardly ever buy sweet potatoes. I really just want to try to grow them to see if I can. My gardening friend has a sprouting sweet potato, so I might have to borrow some slips from her if these don’t work out.
      Thanks for the comment! And you have a very lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

